03/06/19: Democracy in action

Breckland Council has announced a series of dates for its 2019/20 Cabinet Roadshow, which will give residents an opportunity to speak with senior councillors as they hold their meetings in the district's market towns over the course of the year.

Council Leader and Cabinet Chairman Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen decided to hold alternate Cabinet meetings across Breckland market towns to make it easier for residents to attend and speak directly to Cabinet members about key issues. It comes following the success of last year's Cabinet roadshow.

Cllr Chapman-Allen said: "Last year's Cabinet roadshow events were well-attended by local residents and proved to be an incredibly helpful way of receiving public feedback and talking with people about matters affecting them locally. Our Cabinet meetings are already held in public, but by taking them into the district's market towns we hope to encourage more people to get involved in the democratic process and I look forward to welcoming residents to the upcoming meetings."

Breckland's Cabinet is chaired by Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen and is made up of seven other councillors: Cllr Ian Sherwood, Cllr Gordon Bambridge, Cllr Paul Claussen, Cllr Philip Cowen, Cllr Mark Robinson, Cllr Paul Hewett and Cllr Alison Webb.

During the roadshow, members of the public will be invited to ask questions of the Council's Leader and Cabinet between 9.30-10am. The Cabinet meeting will then formally begin at 10am and residents are invited to remain for the duration.

The events will be held at:

  •              Swaffham Town Hall - 25 June
  •              Attleborough (venue tbc) - 14 October
  •              Dereham (Meeting Point, 4 Withburga Lane, Dereham, NR19 1ED) - 3 February 2020
  •              Watton (Watton Town Hall) - 16 March 20
  •              Thetford (The Carnegie Rooms, Thetford) - 27 April 2020

Meeting agendas will be published on the council's website a week before each meeting. For more information, visit Council & Democracy


Last updated: 19/05/2020 13:26:37