Elections in Breckland

Electoral Services are responsible for the conduct of all elections and referendums, District Council, Parish Council, County Council, Parliamentary, European Parliamentary and Police and Crime Commissioner. You can only vote at elections and referendums if you are registered to vote. 

Breckland District Council

The District Council holds elections for all of its members (also called "Councillors") every four years.  Following a Local Government Boundary Review which came into effect on 7th May 2015 the District is divided into 27 electoral wards and there are 49 district councillors representing the wards.  The date of ordinary elections is usually the first Thursday in May. Refer to the Find your Councillor and Town & Parish Councils section for more detailed information on Breckland's district and parish councillors.

Norfolk County Council

Norfolk County Council currently has 84 councillors elected from the County to make decisions about county-wide decisions (such as education and social services).  Breckland currently has 12 county councillors who serve for four years.  A list of all county councillors can be found on the following link Norfolk County Council Councillors

U.K. Parliament

Breckland District Council organises the elections for the Mid Norfolk Parliamentary Constituency. There is one Member of Parliament that represents this Constituency. Parliamentary elections are held within 5 years of the last general election.

European Parliament

Elections to the European Parliament are held every five years. The UK is divided into twelve electoral regions (Breckland Council is in the Eastern Region) with between three and ten MEPs representing each region. The nine English regions elected 59 MEPs, Scotland elected six MEPs and Wales four MEPs. In Northern Ireland three MEPs were elected under its own system of proportional representation.  Residents in Gibraltar voted in the South West Region. All 736 MEPs  in the European Parliament are elected under some form of proportional representation. Differences exist between Member States for example in the methods used (eg. Droop quota, d'Hondt system, Single Transferable Vote) or in the constituency unit (regional or national).

Last updated: 07/10/2019 13:02:14