13/03/18: Cabinet roadshow to visit Breckland's market towns

Breckland Council is taking its Cabinet 'on the road' and is inviting residents to attend meetings in the district's market towns throughout 2018.

Council Leader and Cabinet Chairman William Nunn made the decision to hold alternate Cabinet meetings in public locations in Watton, Dereham, Swaffham, Attleborough and Thetford this year to make it easier for residents to attend these meetings and speak directly to Cabinet members. The meetings are usually held at the Breckland Council offices in Dereham.

Cllr Nunn said: "We're excited to take Cabinet meetings into our local communities and to provide more opportunities for local people to be involved in our democratic processes. I look forward to welcoming any local residents who would like to see what happens at Cabinet or who may wish to put questions to us about the things that are important to them and their community. While our Cabinet meetings are already held in public, by taking them into the district's market towns we will hopefully encourage even more residents to get involved."

Breckland's Cabinet, which has to make decisions that are in line with the council's overall policies and budget, is chaired by Cllr Nunn with Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen as Vice-Chairman, and is made up of six other councillors: Gordon Bambridge, Paul Claussen, Philip Cowen, Mark Robinson, Adrian Stasiak and Alison Webb.  

The first meeting in the Cabinet's 'roadshow' is on Tuesday, 20 March, at Swaffham Town Hall.

For the first 30 minutes, from 9.30am to 10am, members of the public will be invited to ask the Council's Leader and Cabinet questions. These do not have to be submitted in advance.

Formal Cabinet will then begin at 10am and residents are invited to remain for the duration. Afterwards, local ward representatives will take Cabinet members on a tour of the town, using this as an opportunity to highlight local issues.

Cabinet 'on the road' meetings will be held as follows:  

20 March                    Swaffham Town Hall

12 June                      Attleborough (venue TBC)

4 September              Thetford (venue TBC)

27 November             Watton (venue TBC)

5 February 2019        Dereham (venue TBC)

The agenda for the first Cabinet meeting in Swaffham is available to read on Breckland Council's website viaCommittee Meetings.

Other Cabinet meetings this year will continue to be held in Dereham at Breckland Council's offices, Elizabeth House.

Last updated: 30/04/2018 10:59:21