What is the criteria for important hedgerows?

The Regulations specify in detail how the criteria are met. This is a simplified guide.

1. Marks a pre-1850 parish or township boundary

2. Incorporates an archaeological feature

3. Is part of, or associated with, an archaeological site

4. Marks the boundary of, or is associated with, a pre-1600 estate or manor.

5. Forms an integral part of a pre-Parliamentary enclosure field system

6. Contains certain categories of species of birds, animals or plants listed in the Wildlife and Countryside Act or Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC) publications

7. Within an average 30m length, includes:

  • at least 7 woody species
  • at least 6 woody species and has at least 3 associated features
  • at least 6 woody species, including a black poplar tree, or large leaved lime, or small leaved lime, or wild service tree; or
  • at least 5 woody species and has at least 4 associated features
  • the list of 56 woody species comprises mainly shrubs and trees. It generally excludes climbers (such as clematis, honeysuckle and bramble) but includes wild roses 

8. Runs alongside a bridleway, footpath, road used as a public path, or a byway open to all traffic and includes at least 4 woody species, on average in a 30m length and has at least 2 of the associated features listed below:

      The associated features are:

  • a bank or wall supporting the hedgerow;
  • less than 10% gaps
  • on average, at least one tree per 50 metres
  • at least 3 species from a list of 57 woodland plants
  • a ditch
  • a number of connections with other hedgerows, ponds or woodland; and
  • a parallel hedge within 15 metres.

Last updated: 21/08/2019 09:59:48